History of the U.S. Country Studies Program

The U.S. Country Studies Program provides financial and technical assistance to developing and transition countries for climate change studies. The program was announced by the President prior to the United Nations Conference on Environment and Development (UNCED) in Brazil in 1992. The first round of two-year studies began in October 1993, and a second round followed in October 1994. Fifty-six countries on five continents currently participate in the program. Regional and sectoral oversight for this program is provided by the U.S. Country Studies Management Team (CSMT). Each participating country has both a U.S. Project Officer and its own Country Study Coordinator. For a list of these country project contacts, see the Country Contacts list.

The participating countries are developing inventories of their anthropogenic emissions of greenhouse gases, assessing their vulnerabilities to climate change, evaluating response strategies for mitigating and adapting to climate change, formulating national climate change action plans, and performing technology assessments. Most countries have completed their basic studies (Final Country Reports).  If you would like more information about a specific country, contact the (CSMT).

The program provides technical assistance to countries through workshops, guidance documents and analytical tools, and consultations with technical experts. 

The objectives of the program are to assist countries as they:

Support for National Action Plans (SNAP)

In response to requests for financial and technical support from over 40 developing and transition countries, the U.S. Government initiated a new activity to assist countries with the development of their climate change action plans. Support for national action plans (SNAP) builds on the current U.S. Country Studies Program, which supports climate change country studies in 56 developing and transition countries. This new activity provides financial and technical assistance to help countries use the results of their climate change country studies and to develop action plans for implementing a portfolio of mitigation and adaptation measures. Countries can use these plans for meeting their obligations under the Framework Convention on Climate Change (FCCC). 18 countries currently participate in the SNAP phase of the USCSP.

The objectives of the SNAP phase are:

Return to Home Page

Copyright © 1997 USCSP
Most recent revision June 24, 1999