Who wrote these brochures?

The primary authors of these brochures were Granger Morgan and Tom Smuts of Carnegie Mellon University. They had help from a number of colleagues including Hadi Dowlatabadi, Baruch Fischhoff, Lester Lave, and Ed Rubin. Before the brochures were published they were reviewed by a number of experts and groups of laypeople who offered extensive advice on how the brochures could be improved. While we followed much of this advice, the final product is the authors' responsibility.

Granger Morgan is Head of the Department of Engineering and Public Policy at Carnegie Mellon University. He holds a Ph.D. in applied physics and has worked for many years in environmental problems and risk analysis. Tom Smuts holds a BA in philosophy and is particularly interested in ethical issues related to the environment. Hadi Dowlatabadi holds a Ph.D. in physics and directs Carnegie Mellon's program of integrated assessment of climate change. Baruch Fischhoff holds a Ph.D. in psychology and is an expert in risk communication. Lester Lave holds a Ph.D. in economics and has worked extensively on risk and environmental economics. Ed Rubin holds a Ph.D. in mechanical engineering and is an expert on energy systems and their environmental impacts.

In preparing these brochures, the authors have worked hard to present a balanced and impartial treatment of this controversial topic. A number of laypeople assisted us with evaluations. In addition, we thank the following for their assistance and reviews: Peter Ashcroft, Cindy Atman, Jesse Ausubel, Matt Ball, Ann Bostrom, Edith Brown-Weiss, Stewart Cohen, Rob Coppock, Cliff Davidson, Michael Fischer, Paul Fischbeck, Ann Fisher, Shane Frederick, Willett Kempton, Millett Morgan, Eleanor Morgan, William Nierenberg, Ted Parson, Anand Patwardhan, George Perkins, Daniel Read, Sue Rowley, Tom Schelling, Stephen Schneider, Jhih-Shyang Shih, Mitchell Small, Richard Sonnenblick, Patti Steranchak, Billy Turner, Randy Urbano, and Robert White. The drawings for the brochures were done by Frederick Carlson. The work was supported by a grant from the Scaife Family Foundation.